Pay what you want for Radiohead

Record company execs around the world already hate the internet and mp3s, this radical move from Radiohead will no doubt shake things up some more.

In Rainbows is Radiohead’s 7th album and drops on 10th of October – but it’s only for sale in digital format from their website, and the price … whatever you want to pay, even if that is $0. 

Singer Thom Yorke told TIME, “I like the people at our record company, but the time is at hand when you have to ask why anyone needs one. And, yes, it probably would give us some perverse pleasure to say ‘F___ you’ to this decaying business model.”

Read Radiohead’s blog here.

5 responses to “Pay what you want for Radiohead

  1. I paid £40 (although I did buy the discbox and not the downloads)

  2. I hope album #7 is up to the standards of albums #2, #3 and #4. Albums #5 and #6 were pretty naff.

  3. Kapai Boy! You are what makes this rad system works!

    Yip Piglet, I’m mostly with you on that rating. The article touts them as the best band in the world.

    But, I do feel like buying this album digitally just to support the concept. But the digital thang gets on my nerves, I like listening to music old skool-loike on le big record machine.

  4. I paid zero for the download. If it blows my tiny little mind like other Radiohead albums have done in the past, I’ll gladly shell out for the discbox and stick it on my record player :oP

  5. Kapai Piglet. Thats the game! (Burn it for me on disc, will ya? kidding!)

Leave a Reply

